working at it slowly

Comments

• Go for it - enter the race! A fun run will break the ice for you & it's guaranteed you won't make a fool of yourself and nobody will laugh. That's exactly what I thought in my first race & I felt sick with nerves at the start with all these "proper" runners around (there were quite a few improper ones as well tho'!) - what I didn't expect was the massive support and encouragement you get from fellow runners, marshalls & spectators & how much fun it'd be on the day, so go on - have a go! You'll never know otherwise!
  • Hi guys - well looks like you were all correct - went out for a 4 miler last night and had to stop after 2 as my right calf was starting to hurt and this morning its somewhat tender - have an appointment with my osteopath tomorrow to see whats going on - keep everything crossed for me!!
  • Welcome laraine and Christine

Gaz, hope it all works pout for you
    poddler, im no expert, btu i think lactate threshold is when you are very uncomfortable, rather than just working hard, and cant carry on
    actually
    it just before that point
  • Thanks P Hippo

Chrissy - have you thought about one of the Race for Life races? 5k, women only, many people walk the whole way. They're for cancer charity and they like you to raise about £30 but it's not compulsory. The atmosphere is fantastic and despite being very different in some ways to "normal" races many things are similar - the support you get, the nerves, the feeling that everyone is faster and.....the queue for the loos.
    I think the venues are due out for 2004 sometime soon (there is a thread on this somewhere too) and with about 250 venues in the UK I would imagine there is one near you.
    As Erratic says the support is usually good at these races even from the whippet racers sometimes!
  • larraine

it wont be as hard as last time if you've only been back on the fags a few months. try the allen carr book for a new approach?

good luck
  • XBXB ✭✭✭
    Larraine