Sleeping heart rate...

Right, last night I got over the 'running nerd' stigma and wore my HRM to bed. Now it stopped recieving a signal after 2 hours, due to the bedding getting in the way, but I'm pretty sure I hit REM by this point anyway. The lowest HR reached was 35. Now, I'm no expert on HRM's... is this the value I use as my resting HR when calculating my HR reserve? If so, the values I would have to use are:
Max HR: 225 (Not a fault, measured on several occasions! Once when nearly ran over, twice at the end of a race)
Resting HR: 35 (obv.)

HR reserve = 225-35 = 190
Therefore easy run = 158 to 170. This doesn't feel like an easy run!

Wheres the error? Are the 225 (I'm 21 by the way) readings artifacts? The highest I got in my Mile reps yesterday was 185, but thats no a good measure either. Should I use 200 as my max value?

Arrrrrrgggggghhhhhh!!!
Brain hurt. Must stop thinking!

Comments

• drewdrew ✭✭✭
    KK, I've got similar problems. I've also worn my HRM when sleeping and it dropped to about 35, but on a day to day basis it rarely gets below 38. I tend to use a figure of 39 as it more accurately depicts day to day life. As for MHR. 2 years ago I managed to reach 181 but since then have peaked at 173, no matter how hard I try.

If I use 181 in my calculations then my 10k HR equates to only 84% WHR, whereas using the 173 figure it's 88%, which is more in line with what I would expect.

Using your day to day experiences provides figures that are more in line with what you would expect
  • KK

How are you calculation easy run? In my book an easy run is somewhere around 60% i.e. 190 x 60% = 114 + RHR (35) = 149. Have I missed something?