The wall

My brother and I have done a couple of long runs/marathons now and on all occassions one of us has hit the "wall" and had to slow up. Does anyone have any advice on how to combat this during a run and the best way of training to avoid it in the first place?

Comments

• Yeah, Jim. Easy. Don't ever run a race that's longer than 18 miles.

It is said that if you do plenty of long training runs (without necessarily hitting The Wall in training) to improve your leg muscles' ability to store glycogen and your body's ability to start using fat as fuel earlier in the race, taper properly, and carbo-load in the run-up to your marathon, you should be able to sail past The Wall with only minor discomfort.

Let's have the voice of experience. Anyone here got The Wall well sorted?
  • Oops, forgot - and acquire the ability to consume and keep down plenty of fluid and carbs during your run, starting from the beginning.
  • I had the same problem till I started training with a slightly higher fat diet.

Fat gives a lot more energy per gramme than carbohydrate. The problem is that the fat must first be turned into Glycogen. This is a slow process. The Wall is hit when the muscles run out ready energy and have to really on Glycogen being made from fat. You have to slow down as this process is slow to start and is a slow process anyway.

If you train with a higher fat diet, the body starts to burn fat earlier, and more efficiently, so the wall is either avoided or delayed.

This advice was taken from the "Non-runner's Marathon Trainer"
  • I once read a book that said, that due to a body holding about 2-hours glycogen reserves, there were two ways to avoid the wall and its advice was to: -

1) Run fast enough as not to run out of glycogen reserves
    2) Refuel en-route

Being as slow as I am, I use option 2

I also agree with V-rap that long training runs are also a good bet :o)

Will