Driving and Sore Knees

I’ve been running on and off for a few years, never more than 20 – 30 miles a week, but I always seem to have sore knees. Its not just one, but both. Seen the Doc and physio ....... “classic runner knee”.

But I have another theory, commuting in the bloody car. Has anyone else thought that leg and knee problems have been bought on by your driving position? Some days my left knee is very painful especially walking up the steps from the car park, it sometimes eases during the day, but its nearly always there.

Has anyone got any ideas on how to alleviate the problem?

Comments

• Hi Andy

I never had knee problems until I took up running this year and I've played football and various racquet sports (table tennis being one unsurprisingly given my nickname) for over 15 years. As for blaming commuting, well I've worked in driving jobs in the past and never had any problems.

I reckon for some of us the injuries just seem to go with the sport. Maybe Dave the Taxi will appear online and comment on this and how his legs are when driving all day.

For what it's worth I use Ibruprofen as an anti-inflammatory and a strecth bandage that seems to help.
    PPB.
  • Andy your left knee will be the one that operates the clutch so if you drive in very heavy traffic maybe an automatic gearbox is the answer - actually I'm just showing off (female - cars)
  • Andy - I had the same problem with my left knee.Average 40,000 miles pa in the car.Changed to a car with manual gearbox but automatic clutch 2 years ago.Problem solved- no more knee pain.Unfortunately it did not make me run any faster.
  • My left knee is dodgy too. Got worse when I drove back from Brighton. I think a combination of driving in traffic and running is the problem.