Running Clothes for Pregnant Ladies

Hello All,

I wonder if anyone out there can please offer me any advice. I have been running marathons now for just over 2 years but have recently found out that I am expecting my first baby.

I am now 17 weeks pregnant and getting to the stage that my baby belly is getting too big for the clothes I normally wear, and I really want to keep my fitness levels up throughout my pregnancy, although obviously the marathon training has ceased!!! I keep reading various articles encouraging pregnant ladies to keep exercising, and my midwife if also encouraging me to do this. Only problem is - where can I find sportswear maternity clothes? I have been trying everywhere, but I just can't find anything suitable.

Cheers All,
Gilly

Comments

• Good to know I'm not the only one. I'm now 35 weeks pregnant, and I had to give up running at about 24 weeks because I couldn't find any comfortable gear to run in. Tracksters worn as hipsters extended my running by a couple of weeks, but eventually the bump just starts to bounce on top of the waistband, and it gets really uncomfortable.
    I used the opportunity to get back on my bike and cycle alongside my husnband, giving encouragement all the way, and also gym training - something I always passsed on to go outside for a run. It's made a nice change, but now the weather is better, I'm dying to get my trainers back on, and get out for a run once the baby finally arrives!

Good luck!

LL
  • Hi Bunnybabes,

Reebok have just introduced a range of maternity sportswear. I saw some of it in JJB Sports whilst shopping in Bath at the weekend. I wish it had been available last summer when I was pregnant as, like Looby Loo, I got fed up of rolling down the waistband of big tracksuit bottoms and feeling the bump bouncing around! Not great to say the least.

• I've just looked on both the Reebok website and the JJB website, and I can't find any mention of maternity wear.