Holiday has killed my running

I only started running in March, and did the 5k Race for Life late June in 27mins which I was really pleased with. However, I've just had a 4 week break from running and now find I can barely manage a mile. Is it normal to lose fitness so quickly? Any suggestions on how to get it back - or do I just go back to walk/run for a while?

Comments

• I am no expert on this but I would imagine that most people start to lose fitness after about 3 weeks or so. Its probably a good idea to ease back into your running and take walking breaks for a week or so. Fitness will come back much quicker than when you first started out in March so keep at it and don't get disheartned.
  • Aye Ive just come back from a 3 week holiday and its hard.

Ease back in slow and you'll be surprised how quickly it all come back
  • drewdrew ✭✭✭
    You actually start to lose fitness after 3 days inactivity!

As everyone says, just ease back slowly. You'll probably be back to your pre-holiday fitness level in about 2 weeks.

Don't lose heart and remember that some elite athletes take 3 or 4 weeks break every year. They too have to start off at a much reduced level.
  • Yep! Drew is rightyou start too lose fitness very fat. If your sensible you will have your old levels back soon enough. It is easier to begin again than it was to build up the fitness originally.

CH
  • I was reading my running bible last night and they reckoned that after 5-7 days there is no noticable loss of fitness - in fact you may even run faster as all those niggly injuries heal.