Abuse When Running

I have been running for about 3 years now and during that time I have had the usual honking of horns from the preverbial boy racers and the like, the staggering drunk with some derogatory comment, but I have always risen above it and ignored it. But the other night I went for my usual 6 miler and during it I had a large empty bottle thrown at me from a bridge narrowly missing me. I thought about reporting it to the Police but there were no phones near by and probably wouldn't have attended anyway. I was just wondering if anyone has had similar experiences and what did they do

Comments

• Personally the only incident was when a group of youths intentionally tried to block my path. I have to confess that I knocked one of them down.

The only other times is when I've been running with women. It's amazing the stick that they get. Honking horns, whistling, shouting etc. I don't know how they put up with it.

• I've had a few odd comments, which have really frightened me (because I'm a big girly scardy cat).

I never go running alone outside now. If I am alone I go on the treadmill. If you are having to run in a rough area, have you considered joining a running club?
  • I've learnt to be careful where I run and what time etc. Even though I know I can look after myself, your example of the bottle shows you never know what's going to happen!

I actually got shot by a sniper with an air-rifle a year ago when me and my girlfriend were walking along on our way to do a run. I needed surgery to remove the pellet from my thigh and ended up with compensation and a scar! I got the police involved and although they were quite helpful I think they were too busy to investigate properly (even though 3 seperate people were shot).

My advice, keep running but maybe try bringing a mobile phone with you incase of emergency.