Hill reps

There is a killer hill just under two miles away from home, and it's just under 1/2 mile in length. The elevation is from 0 to 70 metres according to my OS map. As a 1/2 mile is quite a long way to run up a hill, I was wondering if any of you more experienced runners could suggest a good distance and number of repetitions for this hill? I've never done hill reps before, but I like to be challenged and to work hard.

Thanks a lot,
Hild

Comments

• HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Hi Hildegard,
    as a start and seeing as you've not done hill reps before you could try doing 10x30 secs with a jog back down recovery. If a jog recovery is too much, a walk recovery is fine aiming towards eventually doing a jog recovery.

If this session is too easy, then up the time to 10x45 secs, with jog or walk recovery.

When you want to make it really hard you could do 5x1 min, jog recovery aiming to get to 10x1 min, which is quite an advanced session, but something to eventually aim for.

Good luck and enjoy!
  • Hildey I agree with hilly,

My hill session are general'y one of these

12-15 30sec up, jog down
    10 x 1min up, jog down
    5-6 x 2min up, jog down
    Farlek hills
    Pryamid hills

I've been doing some hill session's on the grass latley as it saves your joints on the way down. Seb Coe used to get his dad to drive him back down!!!
    I've also read recently that you should keep the recoveries fairly steady to make it more of a hard/steady [rather than jog receries] run session. I've been trying this out & it seams to work ok.
    But for now stick hilly's idea.
    You can have a lot of fun with hill session's so don't be afraid to play around with them.

Tim
  • Hi Hild