Racing up to a Marathon

This is my first year of running the FLM. I have booked myself in to a number of races leading up to the marathon and I am not sure if I am entering too many or too few! I have entered the following;

Dartford 10 Miler Jan 19th
Tungridge Wells Half Feb 23rd
Hasting Half Mar 16th
Darent Valley 10K Apr 6th

I am following the immediate schedule.
Any advice or this would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Not sure I'd want to race a 10k one week beforehand - ok for a jog round I guess.

March 23rd has the Worthing 20 if you feel up to that, some would say three weeks before FLM is a bit close.
  • Hi Iain.

My marathon schedule says to do an 8 mile run on the Sunday before the Marathon, so I was going to use the Darent Valley 10K as that run and do it at training session pace not race pace, the only reason I was have enterted is because it is on my doorstep.
  • Longlegs,

I should think thats fine. You're being very sensible about the 10k the week beforehand, and so long as you've done the long runs, remained un-injured from the races and start carbo loading on the Monday before London - I don't see why your race schedule shouldn't be okay!

The weekend before my last marathon I ended going for a 20 miler (contrary to all advice given) as I'd been so injured I just needed to know I could get round 20 miles. Come the day, still a bit unsure, I stuck to my race plan and pb'ed.

If it works for you then go for it is I guess what I'm saying! :-).

BTW There is a 20 miler in Essex on the 2.2 or is this too soon for your scedule?