Running or Cycling

How does cycling compare to running, i am unable to run at the moment because of a hamstring injury, so i thought i would give cycling a go, it doesnt aggravate my problem, but what i want to know is if i run 1 mile what would be the equivelant mileage to achieve the same fitness effect on a bike, is it the same? and is this a good substitute for running. Is there any forumite who can shed light on this for me please

Comments

• HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    I'm far from an expert on this, in fact I know very little, but I think I read that for each mile you run you need to cycle about 5. There are quite a few cyclists on this forum, I'm sure one will give you a more knowledgeable answer.
  • I don't think that there's a definitive answer to this, but I have heard it said that 4 miles on the bike equates to approx one mile of running.
    Somebody will no doubt prove me wrong!

Paul.
  • Hilly,

You must have been typing at the same time as me!
    Shall we split the difference and go for 4 1/2 miles?!!
  • I was a competitive cyclist until May last year after which I took up running.

Having done both sports fairly recently I would agree that the 1/5 ratio is probably about right.

I used to think that cycling was as hard as it could get but having 6 months of 1/2 marathons and now xc under my belt I take that back.

I can honestly say that I have suffered more whilst running than I ever did on a bike!!
  • So really you have to put in a lot of miles in compared to running. I hope my hamstring improves. Does anyone know if cycling is good for your hamstring's or are you using a different set of muscles for this.