HRM - Which One? Polar?

Hi

I've been running for 6 months now (upto 30 miles a week) and now find that i fancy a HRM? Are they worth it? Which one? Is the belt restrictive around your chest? Any info would be much appreciated!

Cheers
Chris

Comments

• hi , i had the same problem, but opted for a polar m71ti, which has been v good so far, chest strap is no problem, only problem with mine has been at night as it's doifficult to see readout light function is crap!
    found mine a good training tool in conjunction with sally edwards hrm book, which i got from amazon.
    helps motivate a bit too which is always a problem for lazy me!
    best of luck
  • I find that a HRM is a fantastic training tool. Can really make the most of your training sessions by doing the right amount of work.

I've got the Timex one - have had no problems with it.

cheers
  • GOMW,
    This subject keeps on cropping up in these forums. Try doing a search on 'HRM', there is plenty of good advice to be found. I have a Polar M51 and have had no problems so far apart from the odd erractic reading, which is also a separate thread (search for 'erratic').
  • I would generally recommend Polar HRM's as they seem well liked by their owners. I've got a M71ti which I wouldn't recommend. Although it looks nice it lacks basic features like average HR and peak HR. If you opt for one of the titanium models spend the extra and get the M91 ti instead.
  • Thanks for the responses, have gone with a polar 51, after reading through some old threads.

cheers
    chris
  • nope just about to buy it from sportshoes? whats URWFRC? how much will it cost me?
    cheers
    Chris
  • I've just replaced my old Polar Edge (Excellent but basic) with a new Sigma 61 for the same price as a chest strap for the Polar. It promised lots - equivalent to M51/2, but I regret it already, with weedy bleep and small display, complicated to use. At least it is a cheap waste of money!