Help please...

Hi folks was wondering if I could pick some expert brains?

I have a plan for this year, I would like to run my local half marathon in Jersey in mid April and then at the end of June the 21st I'd like to run/walk the round island walk which is about 48 miles, i walked it last year but I'm thinking a run/walk could be fun.

Would this be possible or am I mad? At the moment I'm running four times a week for about half an hour, and have been running for nearly a year.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Cheers

Rich

Comments

• Hi, rich, Im no expert but Im also aiming to do a half by about end of April. take a look at the training section on this website, it gives a good detailed training plan which is about 10 weeks long. I suspect youll have to lengthen one run by a bit each week so that you can stay on your feet for the whole half !

good luck
  • Richard, Theres loads of time for training for the half. How many miles a week do you run now on average and what's your longest run ?

You need to increase each of these gradually by not more than 10% per week. Ideally your long run shouldn't be more than half your total weekly mileage (third would be better). You should increase your long run so that you get in at least a couple of at least 13 milers two weeks before the race. The week before have an easy run instead.

A spreadsheet is useful for this.
  • Cheers for the tips. At the moment I,m averaging 16 miles a week with no long run.

Any thoughts on doing a half marathon then training up for a 48 miler? Is it feasible?
  • H0NKH0NK ✭✭✭
    Richard,