Motivation needed.

I work away from home usually for two weeks at a time. I'm quite new to running and what I've been doing is sticking to my run/walk programme at home and just doing long walks at work because of the hills.

Trouble is I'm now working in a very hilly part of Yorkshire until the 19th November. I've tried to do my running here but the downhills kill my knees and the uphills just kill me. There really is nowhere flat to run and I'm finding it quite a struggle. I'm on 5 mins run/2.5 mins walk at the moment. Can anyone suggest anything else I can do other than just the walking to build up my fitness so I can carry on where I left of when I get home?

Thanks,
Ash.

Comments

• Hi,
    I started running in April, and was walking running, well I actually still am in a fashion but I ran a 5K in June and have in a fit of madness entered a 10K this month.
    To begin with I was struggling a bit and couldn't run very far. Always thought I couldn't run up hills and didn't even try. But a friend at work, who runs frequently said that you can do more than you think you can. So one day I tried it, I didn't get all the way up the hill but far enough to prove to myself that it wasn't impossible. Now I actually run a hilly route once a week. Perhaps the hills are just an excuse, and you're putting it off. It's really not that much of a disaster if you take frequent walk breaks. There is a good article on the RW website about Run/Walk training. You should read it.
    Also if you are looking for the inspiration to carry on when you feel you can't if you can get a hold of John "The Penguin" Bingham's book "The courage to start". Great read and it kept me going when I thought I wasn't actually cut out for this running lark.
    Now I actually think I've caught the bug and actually miss it if I don't go.