Speed vs Distrance :Advice?

All --

Be greatful for some perspectives/advice...I am a fairly novice runner. I am doing mostly treadmill running at present..2 to 2.5 miles per run. Takes about 25mins. My routine is usually to take it at about 5mph (according to the treadmill info) for 15 or so minutes and then go up to 6 to 6.2 mph for 5-6 mins and then back down to 5mins.

...As I progress would you reommend I focus on speed or increased distance as a next step? My goals are weight loss and overall fitness (as well as enjoyment!). How slow is what I am doing compared to other relative beginners?

thanks
Robert

Comments