Sub 34 min. 10k?

Now then!
I would love some advice on how to run a sub 34 minute 10k. I've been running for about 6 months building up to about 25 miles a week. I attempt to get out about 4 times a week varying my speeds depending on what distance i'm running, though I don't do anything `specific` within my training. I've ran a few races recently -10k 34.59 and 5k 16.29. Can anyone give me a bit direction please - cheers!

Comments

• Tom.Tom. ✭✭✭
    Sub 35 mins on 25 miles a week after 6 months - bl**dy Hell. I think you should be giving us advice.

I suspect you should carry on what you are doing, but just increase the mileage up to 45-50 miles a week, whilst keeping the same balance between aerobic conditioning and speed/enduramce work.

When you get down to about 33:45, ask the question again, then you will need to consider both what your longer term
    objectives are, and then plan a structures training program over the same time period to achieve them.
  • Cheers Tom!
    Is there anything in particular that i can do as well as increasing the mileage? At the minute I'm basically running flat out one night then doing a slower run another night. This seems a little unimaginative!
  • Wow Gigsy, you are few seconds faster then me, though I have to run for a while and put in a lot of miles to get there. Can't say much regarding training, is really highly individual. Looks like you have very good natual speed. I would try to improve times over shorter distances (5k,3k,1.5k), maybe join a club, where you can try challenging faster runners!
  • Gigsy

You don't play left wing for MUFC, by the sound of it you should. I run a decent 39.15 for 10k and I'm sure I can get it down to sub 39.
    I looked at the overall package, my times are coming down simply because I varied my training and I went into the gym on top of my mileage. . Perhaps you hit it on the head when you say I don't do anything specific. Controlled training and good advice is what you need.