Also getting started!

Hello!

Just like Cath I am new to the forum, RW and running in general.

I am 30 and a complete beginner, I am about 1 1/2 stone overweight and have slightly high blood pressure (137/91 last reading).

I want to run to get in shape, lose weight, and de-stress. In addition to this, I am really hoping it will help to bring my blood pressure down as I don't want to have to take medication if I can possibly avoid it! I have been given to understand running can be very effective as a way to lower blood pressure, has anyone else had the same problem and found it helpful?

I went for my first run/walk on Tuesday this week and really enjoyed it! I plan to follow your eight week beginner programme to get me up to running for 30 mins non-stop. From that point I would like to train to do a 5k race, then 10k, hoping to do a half marathon next year and possibly a marathon in 2004.

Would it be realistic to aim for a 5K in say mid to late October, and then perhaps a 10K in Jan/Feb next year? I aim to run three to four times a week once I have completed the beginners programme and then build up speed (which is non-existent at the moment!) and distance by following tips on this site.

All advice/suggestions gratefully received - and here's to all beginners making a start, good for you!

Comments

• Hi Fiona welcome to the world of running. You BP may be a little high, was it taken by a doctor or at the gym? Has it been taken more than once? you can get false reading in doctors surgeries due to the stressful envirnoment.
    Training for a 5k in October sounds very achievable, aim to finish and not for a time and go for that PB in a 5k. Good luck with the training and don't forget everyone on this site was a beginner like you at one time.