Gym or Street ?

Hi all, I'm a complete newbie to all this, so i plan to follow the walk a bit/run a bit progression, untill i can do a 30 min run. Is it better to do all this on the gym treadmill or all out on the roads, or, a bit of both ?

Comments

• wherever you feel more comfortable
    personally I'd hit them streets asap
    good luck

• The title of this was "Street or Gym" or something like that ? The answer is "STREET" unless the recent snow means it's too slippy to run there - it can never be just too muddy or too cold (not in England/Britain - are you in England/Britain ? ) - do it in the street unless there is a good reason for doing it somewhere else (being too DARK could be a valid reason for doing it somewhere else by the way)

Ciao, ciao

Mikie
  • If you can hack the cold, then go for the Street, the treadmill does not use the same muscles as normal street/road running, and so the sooner you take the plunge the better.

Best wishes, NN
  • Agree - definitely better to take to the road as soon as possible.

It is much easier to walk/run on the road where you simply have to change the speed your legs are moving at than on the treadmill where you keep having to adjust the speed of the belt and where you always have half an eye on the console.

It's also far more interesting being out and about. And, as NattyNoodle has already said, treadmill running does not provide quite the same training for your legs as road running.

Enjoy!
  • Well I will play devils advocate and disagree a little. If you are already a member of a gym then by all means use the treadmill to gain some experience of running. Put it on a 1 degree incline and away you go, also treadmills are generally a bit gentler on the legs.

BUT treadmills are no substitute for getting outside, so do this when you are feeling more confident.

Oh, and get some decent running shoes whether running outside or on a treadmill.