Has anyone done an open university degree?

I have received the application pack to start the OU maths course in January. Has anyone got any good/bad experience of the OU? What is it like to study by yourdelf?

Comments

• RRR There is thread hidden somewhere under General regarding peeps presently studying with the OU. I got my BSC (hons) through the OU and whilst I wouldn't say it easy to study alone its not that daunting either. Living in the UK you will have the option of attending a local study group related to your class, which may or may not help! You do have to be disciplined as essays, projects etc have to be in by deadlines and life / work / families etc tend to get in the way. I coped by getting ahead of schedule and staying there. To be honest I never did do all the rading I was meant to, tended to read the sections relevant to the question I was about to answer only. It does eat up your leisure time though. Good luck, its a worthwhile experience and if it gets too stressful you can always go for a run!
  • I will have a quick search for that thread. Thanks DD. I am looking forward to doing it but just wanted to hear from others who had gone through it as well. Thankyou!
  • RRR I have just completed my first OU module not in Maths but in BSc Health Studies. It is hard work but the beauty is the flexibility. you get a lot of support via email and there is always a tutor on hand to help out if you get stuck. I'm enjoying this degree a lot more than my first one which was obtained in the conventional manner. You have to be very self disciplined so if I can do it anyone can!
  • The self discipline shouldn't be too much of an issue. I was just wondering exactly how the course was taught. From what I have now heard though it looks like there is a lot of support from tutors etc. I didn't want to end up with a HUGE dusty old text book to work my way through.
  • Mr Beanz is currently doing an OU BSc in IT.