I want to do a marathon

I currently class myself as a "casual runner", I can run 10k and am relatively fit (cycle everyday to work etc.) but would like to do the Flora Marathon.
Firstly, how long do I need to train to be able to finish a half-marathon (I believe you have to have one of these under your belt first), and then how long to be able to finish a marathon comfortably (I'm not aiming for a brilliant time, just want to enjoy it).

Comments

• You dont need a half marathon, but i expect it helps
    Id only really done a 10k before mine, though did maybe 12 miles in training
    Apparently 16 weeks i=s long enough
  • Latt year I started training 11 weeks before the FLM and completed it in 4:18:59 Hope to see you at the start. SB
  • Hi - I am trying to decide whether to enter the ballot for the marathon in 2003 - I know there is only a limited chance I will get in, but I wanted some advice on whether it is achieveable. I have done one 10k and am doing the Nike one in a few weeks - I have also done a couple of 5k runs this year. Other than that, I am pretty much a beginner and when I have mentioned the idea of marathons to friends/colleagues they have reacted as if I must be mad. Do you think that someone like me should attempt to do a marathon?
  • Go for it Karen - it's really not as hard as people think. Just build up your miles progressively, and get a few 20 mile runs in beforehand.

See you there !
  • my best suggestion is to use the runnersworld pacers
  • Leading on from Nigel's comment about runners world pacers - i heard they are really fast so for those people who are likely to do the marathon slowly there isnt a pacer slow enough. Is that true? the same applies to the GNR

Zoe

• Zoe,

They do have a "Get You Round Group" which aims for around 5 hours in the FLM. I know - they overtook me last year!