1st 10k

I've been running for about 4 months and am about to do my 1st 10k in a couple of weeks, been training on treadmill and round the park (on grass & hills, but have found that tough). I've managed to do 44:28 on the treadmill on 2% incline, can anyone predict what my 10k (flat)road time would be. I don't want to do a 10k road run now to find out as a. there are no flat roads round here and b. I'd like to find out it's easier on race day (if it is!).

Comments

• Blimey ! That's a hell of a time. Very impressive.

Jenny - most people quote a 1% incline equals road running.

Adrenaline and the thrill of chasing people should reduce that time.

That time would be 4 mins 24 secs per Kilometer - so use your stopwatch and the Km markers and monitor your times like that.

Stay with that time and see how you go, and if you feel good at half way - try pushing it a little bit.

Danger is if you get caught up and go off too fast - you'll pay for that.

Brilliant time though - were you v sporty before this ?
  • Thanks for the advice Cougie.

I went down the gym a bit but gave that up as it was too sweaty, too smelly and too many poseurs. Used to play squash but gave that up as I got too many bruises. I wasn't fit, but we bought a treadmill in May so I do get to run regularly now and I push myself till I drop as I am too proud and stubborn to turn the speed down. I realise things might be a little different on the road.

I actually find road a bit nearer 2% than the quoted 1%, better to be save than sorry. I train on 3% now.

• god good going Jenny, my first 10k took 74 mins but I did have rain, mud and those hills. You're fast! Wait til the race day if its your first, if you predict and get it wrong and you come out slower you'll be disappointed. Just enjoy the day and it will give you a PB to work on!
  • I'm hoping for a still day, don't mind a little rain, but there will be no mud or hills! Don't mind wind as much as when I first started though.