sub or about 4h30 hopefully

I'm looking to get round in 4.30. Thought of teaming up with Runner's World 4.30 pacemaker. Anyone care to join me ?

Comments

• loads of people i would have thought

there is/was a thread for a sub 4:30 group, i'm sure they'll pick up again soon
  • sounds good to me too - will keep my eyes peeled for the other thread and info about the RW pacemakers.
  • Hi, i'd like to do about 4.30 too so if there is a pacing group i'll almost certainly tack onto it.

What training runs are you doing?
    How long have you been running etc...
  • Aha! I've finally found the thread I've been longing for!
    I'm a beginner but am hoping to do FLM in 4:30 with lots of training!
    I was wondering about pacemakers. As there's bound to be a huge group of people trying to follow them, and some people will inevitably slow down and not keep up, isn't it impossible to keep track of them? Do they wear fluorescent colours so you can't miss them?
    I'm worried I'll end up following the wrong person!
  • don't worry Banana - yup they have loads of people following, but they are ultra fit and carry a big flag with "sub 4:30" raised above heads! I managed to hang on for 13 miles in 2003 - my first attempt - but gradually lost them and finished in 4:39:27 ! Was delighted tho' brill day and will be trying to hang on to sub 4:30 pacer til the finish next year IF i get in!
  • Ahh, I see. I'm not convinced I'll be able to follow them right through. I recently ran a 1/2 marathon in 2hrs 12mins but I don't know if I'll be able to keep that pace whilst doubling the distance. I'd be extremely happy with 4:39.
    You never know, I may find some speed I didn't know I had. I reckon leg strengthening exercises are the key. As I said before, I'm a beginner so am not in my full stride yet.
    I'll look forward to running with loads of people going at the same pace as me. Hope we both get in!