Cr@p Swimmers R Us

Comments

• SmitchSmitch ✭✭✭
    ..I don't think I will attempt tumble turns yet, it could get nasty...

• Can I join this thread?

Had my first swimming lesson last night. Told the coach I wanted to learn front crawl with a view to having a go at triathlons.

Can't believe how crap I was. Couldn't get the leg action right at all. Left at the end feeling very frustrated.

I've no intention of giving up but IMCH in 2005 is looking like a pipe dream at this point.

They had me holding a float out in front of me and moving accross the pool using my legs. I wasn't moving at all. Then they had me holding a float in my left hand while doing the crawl action with my right. Lost control totally.

Should the technique be so difficult to acquire?
  • it does take a lot of work and effort Pudsey - keep going
  • Hello, this is my first time on this site, so bear with me! I am training for my first tri, from a background of an occasional runner, unable to do front crawl 2 years ago(apart from one length, before getting out of breath!) and not cycling since biking to school (I'm 34 now) As far as the swimming goes, up until last week I considered myself a cr@p swimmer, when I managed to complete 70 lengths (25m pool) front crawl. The main problems I suffered with initially were having to concentrate on too many things at once, and everything going wrong, and using up too much energy trying to kick my legs too hard/fast.
    The turning point came when I used a pull bouy for my legs, enabling me to just concentrate on my arms and breathing, this made me realise how little you need to do with your legs, and therefore I could go for longer. Sounds simple I know, and I'm far from a fast swimmer now, but those 70 lengths last week were supposed to be 32 initially, then decided to do 40, then 50 etc. To my amazement I could just keep going! (And I'm sure it wasn't just down to my new Maru trunks!)Anyway, hope this helps, give the pull buoy a try!