Eating Disorders

Dot here, I'm a trainee sports therapist, longtime runner, and recently qualified nutritionist (just started study sports nutrition & eating disorders).

I have to confess that I was completely unaware how many athletes there are out there with ED's, and have to take my hat off to anyone who is not only able to admit they have a problem but has the confidence to write into the RW forum - surely that is a major step towards the road to recovery.

Comments

• Dot I thought the link between exercise, ED's and body image was sort of well known but how much actual research has there been done on this and how much is it based on heresay rather than hard evidence.
  • From my own view...I don't think its possible to ever fully recover from and ED...it's always there - waiting to get at you
  • I agree with Shattered Shins. I don't believe it'll ever go away. Frankly, I'm not sure that I want it to go away completely. Its how I cope with stressful situations....my safety net.

What bothers me alot is that its still a taboo subject. I've tried talking to people about it but they don't know what to say. It seems to be akin to admitting you're an axe murderer! People don't want to know. Not even on these forums. I expect their are a large number of people on these forums who suffer from an ED but are too scared to admit it because they are worried about everyone else's reaction. The problem of course being that this merely enhances the feelings of self disgust and makes you feel more than ever before that and an ED is something to be ashamed of.
  • Well, I am certainly no expert on the subject but do know that the best way to deal with a problem is to talk about it - maybe people who don't truely understand EDs and are frightened to admit it are the ones with the problem. EDs are nothing to be ashamed of, we all deal with stress and problems in our way.
  • I've seen quite a few posts on here from people with EDs that have got decent responses.