Manchester Marathon

Hi all
Is anyone taking part in the Manchester Marathon on 13 Oct? Just saw it on this site, but despite being in Manchester myself, I've never heard anything about it. I'm a beginner but would love to set myself the challenge of doing a marathon on home turf!
Anyone taking part?

Comments

• I'm a Manc myself and did intend to do this but lazyitis struck and my longest run is still 10 miles. So maybe next year.

If you do do it, good luck and let us know how it went.
  • I am looking into this. Used to run 6 years ago to half marathon standard. Have e-mailed to see how you enter

It is harder to get in shape as you get older ain't it!!!

In a moment of reduced sanity, I have said I would do this for charity. If you enter as well, that will be 2 of us at least
  • i'm doing it....well if they finally write back to me....i've sent off the entry anyway....
    hoping for 3.40....maybe see yous there..
    i was originally a manc, but now have the misfortune to live in cambridge...
  • where did you get the entry form from?
  • sent off for it....the address is belle vue leisure centre, manchester....can't remember rest, though that should be ok...you could get it by phoning the council people, i think they're organising it in some way or other...
  • I'm not a manc but have entered the race. Fluffa, check your bank statement if you paid the entry fee by cheque. Mine has just been cleared so I presume I'm in. If anyone is looking for an application form look at Entryforms.org.uk. Closing date for applications is 13 Sept. Hope to see some of you there.
  • thanks for the help. I have downloaded the form from entryforms website. This is very useful

I am hoping to survive the course, let alone set a time.

hope to see you all there. will bring my sponsor forms along. get your wallets out. (lol)

• I have received my notification for this race. Has anyone run this before? I am curious about the course.