New Shoes and Tired Friend

I've been running with a friend for a few months. I feel like I've made quite a lot of progress ( can run 3 miles without stopping, if slowly!) but recently my friend seems to be suffering badly. She keeps wanting to stop ( even more so than when we both started and could barely get around the park without stopping). In the last few weeks I've done a few sessions without her as I feel rather restricted running with so many stops in every session. She is very very slim ( I am not!) and I'm wondering if fuel is the problem (and/or motivation). Whilst she eats a hour or so before we run is the problem due to lack of "long term reserves"? Also why do some days seem soooo hard compared to other days?? Any advice is appreciated!

Comments

• Hi Lucy - that sounds like brilliant progress you're making! Well done. Does your friend still enjoy running? I know when I started, I didn't enjoy it much, but then the bug bit me and now, even on hard days, I can keep going. But if your friend isn't addicted by now, maybe it's not for her. And yes, it's totally normal to have some really bad days.
  • Lucy, I find lots of factors affect my running. I run far better when on holiday from work and towards the end of each half term my fatigue increases and I fall prey to any bugs going around. maybe your friend would run better at another time of day/week? This time of year can really make you feel sluggish and want to hibernate too.
  • My running partner gave up after a few weeks (i only started at christmas) and i am enjoying it more on my own without any nagging or moaning.....try a few runs on your own.
  • Lucy,
    I have the same situation as you. I began running last Sept with a friend. We were both new to it and found it V hard at first.