Shoes for a heavyweight....

Can anyone offer some advice on shoes.

I have been running for quite a few years and have completed a few half marathons in my time and hope to complete FLM 2003 (already have a place as I pulled out last year due to injury)

I am a 6'2" male that usually weighs just over 14st. I run between 7min mile pace over one mile and about 9min mile pace for a half marathon.
I have had a variety of shoes over the years which usually fall into the stability or motion control bracket.
I have had Asics Kayano's for the last few years but must admit I do find they have very little cushioning.
I have recently suffered from ITBS (outside knee pain) and initially thought "must get full on motion control shoes - Brooks Beast or similar" but then I thought that maybe it wasn't that I was overpronating that was causing the knee pain but possibly the impact of a heavy runner using a fairly hard and uncushioned shoe?

I now don't know which way to turn.
To make matters worse I went to a Sweatshop and ran across one of their footscan things and they stated that my imprint was that of a normal biomechanically efficient runner, I then saw a physio about an unrelated matter and he immediately commented that my arches are quite low and that I must overpronate and recommended motion control shoes.

Comments

• annajoannajo ✭✭✭
    Usually it is the case that people with low arches do overpronate. Sometimes, however we find that a person might have developed quite an efficient running style despite their foot gait indicating that they should overpronate.

For example, I was working in one of the Sweatshops the other day, and was serving a customer who sounds very similar (it wasn't you was it?!). From just looking at his feet, he looked as if he needed a lot of support. When, however, he ran over the footscan, and when I watched him run, he looked as if he needed very little support at all - almost a neutral runner.