Getting from Beginners to 10K+

This is my first time on the forum - so be kind to me! My query is that all the beginners training schedules take you to running for 30 minutes - which I can now do without any problems, 3-4 times a week; but what do you do after that?
I have been running further (45-60 minutes)3 times a week, but don't feel that I'm really improving at all. Also, I find that my mental state determines how fast and far I'm going to go rather than my legs! Am I alone in this? and if not what is the solution?
All replies appreciated.......

Comments

• I think the best appraoch is to set yourself a range of progressive goals. Running 30 minutes eventually becomes easy. I found it useful to start entering races. My first was a 10k. I trained for that distance, then entered a half marathon a few months later, so I had a real objective. I gradually increased my 'long' runs, up to about 2 hours. After that, I could see how progressive training worked. I kept to running 30-40 mins during the week, and doing the long run at the weekend. The only real way to determine if you are improving is to test yourself either as part of your training, or by racing. Of course, if it is variety you are after, you could try varing your running, incorporating some speed work, fartlek, hills etc. There is a wealth on information around about this - I used Bob Glover's The Runners Handbook to guide me.
  • Penny firstly well done, you have made the hardest step.

Now that you are a regular runner are you doing it for health reasons? If so 150 mins of 10 mins per mile per week is enough without running too much risk of injury.

However if you want to get better then you need to set a goal and use a programme. There are many on this site and else where - so 10K in 8 weeks, look at the begginners schedule and even if you are already doing more go with that for your first race because too much speed work too early will put you off.