What do i need to buy for winter trainning

Can anyone offer any advice on what i should wear in winter.

I am new to running and i did my firt 10k last week in 1hr9min can you tell me is this ok or what should i be aiming for.

Also one last thing if i want to run the marathon next year how many miles a week should i do.
thanks

Comments

• Reflective gear is a must - not only do I wear a fluorescent vest but an equally fluorescent Ronhill hat!!!!!
    There are training programmes around to prepare for marathons.
    Good luck and enjoy
    Karen
  • Joanne

Its depends on when and where you are going to be running!

Running in cold weather is the same as doing anything in cold weather i.e. you are better off wearing several lighter layers than one heavy layer. Also remeber that things like cotton tee-shirts retain water and once the wind gets on them you can end up dangerously cold. Lighweight wicking long sleeve shirts are the best although in Winter I tend to wear a ski thermal and wicking tee shirt over.

Also long training pants could be useful although I prefer to run in shorts on all but the coldest days.

You should also invest in a good pair of gloves and a hat which covers your ears.
  • Joanne,

I posted a similar request earlier this year (my birthday was approaching). The general pattern was plenty of wicking clothes. I opted for some long sleeve tops, a pair of long running tights, a pair of Ron Hill DXB water resistant tracksters and a showerproof jacket. All bought in sales via the web. Also, if you are going o run every day you will need an extra pair of shoes because they don't always dry out in time.

Good luck and 1.09 for a 10k is fine. The next thing you should aim for is 1.08 etc.

For advice on training for a marathon I'd look at the training schedules elsewhere on this site.

DB.