Sub 4hr marathon,anyone?

1111213141517»

Comments

• Alex i will be there on sunday should be fun,i have really struggled to kick this flu bug and although i have run a couple of times this week i'm way short of where i would like to be.Look forward to seeing some of you on sunday.
  • Hi there,
    I'm a complete novice - only started running seriously 6 months ago. Got a FLM place and have been aiming for 4:15, but I just ran 1:45 in my first ever 1/2. What do you reckon? Can I do sub-4? Training has been going well, no injuries (touch wood) and my long runs are up to 3 hours / 18miles. Is it a realistic goal for my 1st marathon?
  • yes - you can do it but you need to get a few 20 mile runs in to see how you feel. a full mara is much more demanding on the body than a 1/2 so once you get into that 18+ mile area, you will really start to feel it - your lungs will probably be fine, but your body will feel wrecked!

if you stay injury free, motivated and can get say 3 x 20milers in then you will have a very good chance......

did my 20miler on Saturday in a a few seconds under 3hrs, then went to the gym yesterday (wanted to do a tickover session as it was snowing) and ended up doing a 20km bike/5k run triathlon brick - and ended up getting a 5k treadmill PB!!!

oops - didn't mean to go that quick but chuffed all the same........and surprisingly legs don't feel too bad today, but having a rest day
  • boing for CBPT........

here ya go
  • My training had been going really well until last sunday (8 days ago) I did a 10km cross-country race and opted for 2nd pair of trainers and got nasty blister on arch of left foot. It's in a spot that is affected every time I move my foot and the skin is really slow there to repair. Haven't been able to run since and it will be at least three days till I can run again.

Luckily got next couple of weeks off work so am hoping to squeeze in 2 20 milers and then taper. (Did one 18 miles before got the injury).