Absolute beginner!!

And then some!! I'm 43 years old, not overweight, but not fit either. I've always harboured a secret desire to run, but every time I try it I get out of breath by the time I get to the end of the street, and give up after a few days.

Is there hope for me?

M

Comments

• GlennGlenn ✭✭✭
    Of course there's hope! A bit of run walk would be a good start. Take a look at the article "Why run-walk really works" down towards the bottom right of the browser window.
  • Take it slowly and you can build yourself up.... I do spend a lot of time looking at these threads for support ideas etc!
  • Hi Morag, run very, very slowly to begin with, start with fast walking with a few very short jogging bursts which are only slightly faster than your fast walking and build up over a couple of weeks to around 20mins walk/jogging.
  • Morag

Absolutely possible, the trick is not to over estimate yourself in the very early days.

Can you walk for 30 mins at a fairly brisk pace? If so:
    do it & get an idea of how far you've covered,
    keep a very simple record of each session (date, distance, time route)
    give yourself a few days off then do the same route again, aim to walk briskly again,
    next time find a part of the route you feel comfortable breaking into a light jog then return to brisk walking (try not to stop)
    next time same again, try a second short jog
    keep the pattern up
    when you look back at your record you'll see you've started to cover ground you couldn't before
    and so it goes on

Also although I know it's really daunting, try to find a local short race (5k) or fun run that you can join in, book your place early so you know what you're aiming.

Most importantly enjoy yourself & don't beat yourself up if you don't always get out when you meant to

Good luck
  • Hi Morag,

Look for the thread entitled,'I have been running for 3 months but now feel less fit than when I started'

You will find that there isn't one!