No progress!

Hi,
I'm new to running, always thought I couldn't do it but managed first 5k in May. This spurred me on to joining a club and training for a 10k but I don't seem to be improving and am at the point where I don't think I can do it. I run twice a week for 25 mins each time, plus gym, but I feel I'm not improving and can't keep pace with the group - I'm always red-faced and last which is completely demotivating. Any tips/motivation for keeping going gratefully received. 10k seems impossible dream at the moment!
Cheers,
Jo

Comments

• Jo, well done on joining a club and getting this far. There are lots of things you can do to make that 10K look achievable.

Before attempting a 10K race, you should be running a total weekly distance of at least 20K and preferably a bit more. By my abacus, that's about 12.5 miles. It sounds as if you're well short of that at the moment.

I'd suggest adding in a third run each week. Start off by doing it on your own, at your own pace, having plenty of walking breaks if you need them. Aim to make it a bit longer than your club runs - 30mins would be a good start.

Could you convert one of your club runs into an interval session on the track? That will help your speed.

Cross-training - doing another aerobic actibity (swimming, cycling, step class, elliptical cross-trainer, whatever you fancy, as long as it gets you sweaty) on one day a week will help your cardiovascular endurance.

You are likely to benefit from using a heart rate monitor when you train. You may still be last initially, but it will let you use your current aerobic capacity more efficiently so you shouldn't end up collapsing (although having a red face after running is normal - see thread on "injury" forum).

No reason to think you don't have a 10K in you.

Cheers, V-rap.
  • Thanks for this V-rap. Another 30 min run is definitely achievable and it's heartening to know that I can take breaks too!