Asthma and running

i am very new to running but have quite bad asthma. I am very fit - going to the gym several times a week but have only recently started to run. I often have chest infections etc but really want to become a runner. Has anyone any advice on running if you have asthma - thanks

Comments

• Pamela, I have asthma and I run, well jog really and a bit crap at it. I always take my inhaler before setting out even if I feel fine. I always have my inhaler with me. I slow down to a walk if chest is tight. And I don't run if my chest is tight in the first place.

Hope that helps.
  • Also have asthma. Find that first 5 - 10 minutes running OK, but then for next few miles feel I am going to die - experience (so far) has shown me that I won't. Eventually run - or rather plod through it. It seems body needs to adjust to adrenalin eyc. being pumped through it. Would advise starting slowly.

This year seems to be particularly bad, was told at clinic that oil seed rape is being planted after an interval of 4 years and its pollen is particularly bad for asthmatics - if you feel this might be a trigger anti histamines also advised.

Good luck.
  • Ink BlotInk Blot ✭✭✭
    That's why my hayfever is so bad this year then Bear!!

Pamela - Paula Radcliffe has asthma so it is possible to run with asthma, you just have to be sensible like the others have said. I always take my inhaler before heading out too. when you first start out it might be a good idea to do small laps near to your house so if you do start feeling bad you are never too far from home. Then as your ability and confidence grow you can venture further from home.

Just take things nice and steady and you'll be fine :o)

Happy plodding
  • Thanks everyone for your help, it is useful to know that other people suffer from the same problems as me.

I have also heard about the rape seed and I think that this is part of my problem.

I will just carry on plodding and hope that I can build it up from there.