Marathon queries

OK - first marathon looming, have tried to fake injury over the summer but can still walk so that excuse won't work. Exposed myself to the sick and infirm but can't seem to catch a cold - so it may be that I'll actually have to do it.

Initially had a firm plan fixed in my mind but now am rife with uncertainty - so turn to the forum for advice:

1. I have never used immodium before but am wondering whether I should - completely against all advice not to do anything new on race day.

2. Drinking / Eating: I have toyed with the idea of taking my camelbak but feel that over 26 miles I might regret it. I'm keen to take on fuel in the first 10-15 miles and need a reliable way to get it on board so I'm now thinking either bottle belt with plain water and take energy gels or bottle belt with Isostar. After 10 miles I would jettison the bottle.

3. HRM: Have definitely decided not to use my HRM........probably definitely.

4. Had plan to wear recently broken in Asics 2070's but now think they might be a bit firm so will probably revert to Addidas - slightly aging but comfortable.

Comments

• Tim

Target time exists on three planes:

1. "Perfectly acceptable" (my aim at the start of this year and allowing for this being first marathon) 3:30.
    2. "Race dictated goal" (time suggested by recent racing performances and assuming no major mishaps on the day) 3:20.
    3. "Dream time" (assuming everything gels on the day, weather good, taper goes well etc.etc.etc.) Sub 3:15.

I have a degree of fear it would be fair to say because I know no matter how well it goes it going to hurt!
  • I've always found that the drinks provided (every mile) are sufficient to offset the need to carry a bottle.

However you may find it comforting to carry a bottle of lucozade/isostar and sip it regularly over the first 10 miles before chucking it ( I do this for long training runs anyway).

I don't use gels but you may find that there are kids handing out sweets.