I love running

As a spectator at the Windsor half yesterday, I felt inspired, and desperate to put running shoes on.

I love almost everything about running. It's easy and cheap to take part, you can do it anywhere.
The fitness benefits are enormous, and its the most efficient way to burn calories.
I love all the gadgets, HRM, SDM etc.
I love the science, sports physiology and medicine.
I love the events, and being part of something big, and being surrounded by like minded people.
I love the sense of acheivement, on completing a race/distance, the feeeling of being in control of your body.

The only thing I don't like about running is........running. It's so Bl@@dy hard! When I'm running I am frequently asking myself why I'm doing it (of course the answer is written above). I am quite new to running, and I hope that one day, I will go out and enjoy the actual run, but it hasn't happened yet!

Comments

• ........and of course there you have hit the proverbial nail on the proverbial head!

Most things in life that are worth having are hard work, take lots of effort and sometimes make you wonder why you bother. BUT unlike so many of those "other" things in life you don't need to be a genius, rich or talented to enjoy running.

.....and that enjoyment is also so hard to classify because its so many things to so many people. Whether its the freedom that comes from pure physical activity, the opportunity to race, or simply the opportunity to get some time and space to yourself there are many, many paths to enjoyment.

.....the bad news is that running never becomes really easy it just gets faster! For me, running a forest trail in autumn mists moving fast and quiet is like no feeling on this earth and worth every second of the effort.

Stick with it and it will happen.
  • I love running, and love the looks on the faces of the young guys when I " reel them in " after they have raced past me earlier in the race. LOVELY !!!!!!