RW: Cross training

Hello RW
My training for Dublin hasn't always gone according to plan. And I've had to do other activities instead of running. For example, last week, I did a circuits class on Tuesday, a fast 8 mile run on Wednesday, a 40 minute tempo session on Thursday on the treadmill, nothing on Friday, Flexibility work on Saturday and the Windsor Half on Sunday. Fairly typical week. My actual mileage was only 27 or so. Mileage for the week before was around 36, before that 30, and another 30 or so before that. But I've done at least one other aerobic type workout and some flexibility work...what's the verdict RW?

Comments

• HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Snicks, my friend ran 3.31 for the marathon off a 30 mile week. She never does any higher mileage and she does no other workout. I'm no expert but I think you have quite a good balance with your workouts.
  • Yes, x training does work.
    I run 40-50 miles/week.
    Cycle aprox 100 miles/week.
    Times for Marathon are 2:47
    1/2 Marathon 1:16
    10K 34 minutes.Just make at least 2-3 of your weekly sessions, quality workouts.
  • Thanks Hilly. It's pre marathon paranoia. And as for you Fast Pete. Cross training? Your schedule is only training! I'm not surprised your time is so good!! But thanks for your comments. It all makes sense
  • Snicks,

In the Competitive Runner's Handbook (which is my running bible), Bob Glover talks about the equivalent of "Running Equivalent" mileage. The idea is that if you do say half an hour of any aerobic exercise, you can count it as mileage equivalent to the number of miles you could run in that time at a similar level of exertion. So an hours circuits class might be similar exertion to running 8 miles, so you can count is as 8 "RE" miles.

He does warn though that "cross training improves running performance, but not as much as an increase in running".