Cycling Shoes

Do a lot of spinning for cross training. Thought I'd buy some shoes for it instead of wrecking my trainers - got a fab deal on some Carnac Ellipses but I am not technically minded and I need to put some inserts in and then an SPD cleat. Anyone able to help with an idiots guide to how to do this? Chap in the shop kindly showed me but it was all too much to take in and now I'm stuck. I seem to have an insert for SPD centre distance and an SPD cleat but I have lots of bits (some of which might be duplication) and frankly I don't even know which way up to put the cleat. Really really don't want to have to mortify myself by going back to the shop. Any assistance gratefully received.

Comments

• Hi!
    First question - Are you sure the spinning bikes have clipless pedals. All the ones I've ever used have toe straps.

Second - SPD cleats have a two bolt fixing so your shoe should have two slots in the sole, running front to back. The insert should go behind this with one bolt hole lined up with each slot. The cleat then lines up with the two bolt holes and you put the bolts through from the outside. The cleat should have the end that is more triangular to the front.

I've just checked my shoes and my inserts have four bolt holes (to allow for additional adjustment) but only two holes are used.

If you're still having problems, e-mail me :-)
  • mister W thank you! Success. I could remember the bit about putting the bit with holes behind the initial insert but it really was the cleat itself that flummoxed me. The shoes seem to have nothing on the sole to start with so that they are compatible with anything and you just buy the insert you want. Beyond me. Anyway, I've been in to the gym, sneaked into spinning studio and checked they do work. Admittedly I have to clip the shoes onto the pedals then get on the bike and put my feet into the shoes but hey, I'll just need to get there early!