Mens Tights or Tracksters

Hi, I'm a Beginner and would be grateful for some advice on the above. I have a skin problem and am very embarassed to expose my legs in public. I never wear shorts in public. I'm looking for something smooth and comfy. Is there anyone else out there with a similar problem, and if so how do you cope with this? This is question is open to anyone. Please help.

Comments

• Oook!Oook! ✭✭✭
    Every runner I know wears Ron Hill Tracksters in the colder weather (but the hotter weather might be a problem for you)
  • Some men wear tights for running all year - you can get some thinner ones (or at least ladies can....never checked out the men's section) that would be not-too-hot for milder weather.

Lycra is usually very smooth and comfy, and there are even ones that are lined with a little fleece-type stuff if you find fleece soothing for your skin. (no good for summer though!)

Depending on how sensitive your skin is, you might what to look for single-colour tights/tracksters so that there are less seams that might rub. If you do get any sore points, Bodyglide is very good for preventing chafing (but depends on whether your skin can take the Bodyglide!)

I understand a long t-shirt can help if you feel rather -err- exposed in lycra!

However......my experience running outside is that no-one is looking at your legs/wobbly tummy/bright red face/sloooooow pace (delete as applicable - or select all if you are me).....maybe if you try running in tights/tracksters over the winter you'll start to see this too and might feel OK with shorts in the summer.

In the gym, things are a little different - people do look around....but mainly out of boredom/need for distraction ....never noticed anyone mock anyone, but in a gym setting I guess you'd be more comfortable in long-trousers all year.

Good luck with the running!
  • Frank you had better get some long leg gear real soon, as I thing snow may be on its way.