Speed

I've been running for just over 2 months now and I was wondering the more experienced runners reckon the average speed of a new runner like me should be so I've got an idea of whether I'm slow, steady or fast.

Also, any other new runners - what is your average speed?

I'm concentrating on just being able to run steadily at any distance at the moment but I'd like an idea of speeds anyway. Thanks.

Comments

• drewdrew ✭✭✭
    Beth, that's a very difficult question to answer as a lot depends on what you were doing before you started running, how fit you are, your age, weight, etc

How fast do you run at present?
  • Hi Beth,

It's such a difficult thing to predict. Many new runners cannot run but use a walk/run technique to build up to a 30 minute jog. I started in May having never run before but with a good cardio-vascular fitness. I ran then (and still do) 10 min miles on road, 11 on cross country. However over that time I've improved my endurance. I would have no qualms entering a half marathon and run 8 miles regularly.

Its a personal thing, Beth. Look at your ability all round and decide what is important to you, and set personal goals to achieve it.

I would love to run a 9 min mile, but also be able to run and complete a marathon. They are my personal goals.
  • I run at 8 - 8.5km per hour approx.
    I do 5 - 5.5 km in 35 minutes.
    I wasn't greatly fit beforehand. I started gymming it (treamill 3 times a week)in February but didn't hit the road until August. I started by doing walk/run intervals.
    I run 5/6 times a week now.

How do I being getting faster? I couldn't possible imagine going much faster than this without conking out! ha ha

• Beth
    Similar thread on the URWFRC forum 'How fast do you run" - answer we have all sorts of speeds over all sorts of distances on the forum, interesting to get some benchmarks.
    Nick
  • i run faster than you but have been running for an extra month