High Maximum Heart Rate

Hi, I have been running for a couple of years and last year have been using a HRM, by using the formula I have been running supposedly 70-80% of MHR. I am a 39 year old woman. However I have caught my Heart rate at 220, 230 and even 232 not the supposed 230-age = 187 maximum. I have read somewhere that if you happen to catch your heart rate higher than the calculated one you can use that for your percentage calculations. Is this right? It seems my MHR is very high compared with other people. I don't want to be dangerously pushing myself. I haven't done a specific stress test as I never seem to be in peak condition - had a baby 3 years ago who only started sleeping well last year. So all my running has been a very careful plan of getting a run in and getting enough sleep to stop me coming dowm with endless colds and flu. If anyone has any advice on this or anywhere to read about what high Max HR mean I would be very grateful. Thanks

Comments

• JjJj ✭✭✭
    Gosh - that IS high. Are you a hamster?
  • Emma
    would i be right in guessing you are not tall ?

we had a similar thread somewhere on this
    and us 5ft type ladies all came out with much higher Max HR than the standard

i'm 38 and i've definitely caught mine at well over 200
  • Emma - is that a gradual increase to those figures ? I know power lines sometimes give a reading of 220.

I would think that you'd be able to feel your heart pumping like anything at that kind of level - and you'd be flat out.

Whats it like for a steady run ?
  • Emma, I'd guess that the high readings are because of interference - electricity pylons, for example. If it only briefly spikes above 200, and you don't feel as if you're putting extra effort in, it's almost certainly the case. I wouldn't worry about it.

• don't think mine was electrical interference
    but i could be a hamster
  • Hi Thanks for all your responses