Help!

OK, I've been shambling for nearly 4 years and am quite happy with what I've achieved on my own. I've thought about joining a running club but being a non-driver (and Mr. Shambler is NOT interested in shambling), it's just not practical.

I've been buying Runners World for a few months now (I've just opted to subscribe from the December issue) and really enjoy it as it is quite friendly, however, I'd be really grateful if someone could just outline the basics for me, or point me towards the relevant place on the web site, i.e.:-

what exactly is fartlek?
what is a tempo run?
best way to start doing speed sessions?
best way to start doing hill sessions?
(I can shamble 7k in just under 40 mins - not bril I know, but not bad considering when I started I couldn't even walk briskly!)

Thanking you for your help.

Happy Shambler!

Comments

• Sham
    Try starting with:
    http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?SP=624365468355668911306&v=1&UAN=29
    (or search on fartlek on the Home page).

For fartlek you run along at your own comfortable pace then sprint for a few metres then drop back to normal pace, without stopping or walking if possible. The beauty is you can chooose your own times to put in the sprint "I'll do from that pothole to the next lamp-post" - doesn't need to be very sophisticated but does seem to make a difference in building up speed.

• Dear Sham,
    I would recommend reading one of John Bingham's books eg "Courage to Start". It really helped me when I first started "running" (more of a slow shuffle really) and is worth reading for inspiration as well as information.
    And no - I don't work on commission!
  • Thanks Nick & Bean. Now I guess the real work starts!

Happy Shambler!
  • PS - I'm also a non-driver & therefore not a member of a running club for the same reason. I have started using organised races as part of my schedule:

a)because they are interestng enough for the family to come to (& so give me a lift)