Weights

Hi there,
So my quandary is, I'd quite like to do some upper body strength work (hey doesn't want a few more muscles) but I'm a little worried about putting on too much extra weight and I'm wondering if it'll have a negative effect on my running.
Does anyone have any experience here/
Thanks,
Andy

p.s. congrats to those who did the GNR!

Comments

• Try a full body workout with higher reps eg one exercise per body part 2/3x15.

I wouldn't worry too much about bulking up.Putting on just a couple of pounds of muscle requires a lot of hard work.

A bodybuilder would be very lucky to increase lean body mass by 7 or 8 pounds in a year(even with 'supplementation').

You will however find that what you will gain is an increase in strength and tone.

Try to work ALL body parts not just the upper body and avoid lifting just before running.You could start with a few weeks of body weight circuits before moving onto training with added resistance.
  • I am far from an expert but most people I talk to recommend lower repetitions of higher weight doing for gaining strength. So something like 2/3 sets of maybe half a dozen doing things like squats, bench press, pull/chin ups etc. I use a book written by a guy called Pavel something - he is quite popular in the martial arts community for weight training advice - and the argument is that high reps are more or less a waste of time. He also argues that you should not train to absolute failure. It's quite an interesting book although it does look gimmicky - it is written for the american market.