Pregnant runners' club

Comments

• thanks all. i'll not do any ab exercises then ;-)

i'd love to be able to get to a pregnancy yoga class, but my problem is that i'm a consultant, and i'm about to start working in manchester/rochdale area on a client's site for 3 months. that makes getting back to s. wales for an 11am yoga class a tad tricky! i could look for one in manchester, but as the client pays my company through the nose for my time (not that i see the money, obviously!), i don't think they would appreciate me disappearing for 2 hours in the middle of the day to go to yoga!
    it's bad enough with scans and midwife's appointments. it can take 2 whole days out of my week by the time i travel back home from wherever i am, and then back out again! i really think that i need to save their flexibility/understanding until i have a baby and am trying to co-ordinate childcare and working!!
  • How about swimming? that works all the muscles (nice and gently) and helps with flexibility etc especially if you are hoping for a natural birth (says she, who had a caesarean!).
    I agree that pregnancy yoga is excellent, but long walks and swimming are effective and time-flexible too.
    7 months after having my little boy I am FINALLY almost back to the pre-pregnancy me - it is harder work afterwards, but I think that's more to do with having to juggle work, husband, baby, exercise, etc.
    I too have heard horrors about stomach muscles - indeed one of my friends can fit her fist between her stomach muscles and her baby is just over a year old... yuck! What I would say though, is that it is normal to be aware of a gap for a few months after birth - especially if you have quite a lean stomach. I probably still have about a 1cm gap below my belly button, but it is going :o)