Anyone else REALLY scared??!!

Hi!

I am total beginner to running (been running prob last year and a half) and am running London 06. Sticking to training plan and currently just finished week 3 and done my 7 miler which is furthest i have run so far.

So far so good.

But..... Feeling very nervous about it all and 7 miles seemed such a huge effort i cannot possibly believe i am going to be able to run another 19.2

Just want to know other people are feeling like this!!

Becky.

Comments

• Hi there, which plan are you on, I am trying the sub 430 but I think unless I can loose about 5 stones I will be more like sub 6!!!
  • How did you feel after 7 miles?
    Which training plan are you using? What time are you wanting to finish?

No I looked forward to my 1st marathon. The only time I was nervous was on the start line.

This is one of your best days of your life, trust me
  • well i too need to lose good couple of stone. Following a plan from a fab book called "the non runners guide to marathon running" specifically designed for total beginners. Its a good book and sensible plan but.....
  • Hi!

I go through periods of doubt as well as ones where I think logically it really shouldn't be that bad.

The best thing is let your training be ruled by your head. That is stick to the plan, follow sensible advice if injured and ill and there's no reason why it shouldn't go ok.

Deal with the psychology separately. What I find keeps me going is imagining the crowds cheering me on. Provided you've done the training that should be all you need to get round!

Good luck!
  • I did 8.5 at the weekend, follwing the run walk method for the long run as per the schedule, I ran early in the morning, probably will not do that again!! Schedule said 7 but I went a bit further.

Are you just running steady or are there fast runs in your plan?
  • Well my schedule is not run/walk but does say walk if you need to/don't feel bad about it etc.