Manic heart rate

Not boffin but Mrs Boffin actually (I am sure he won't mind!)

I have been using a heart rate monitor for most of my runs over the last couple of weeks and I have been really horrified at how high my heart rate goes at the beginning of each run.
Even when I start out for a really, really slow run it leaps straight up to 180-205bpm. After about 2-3 minutes at that pace it slows down to a more sensible 140-150bpm for the rest of the run.
At first I thought it might have been the treadmill or the heart rate strap being a bit erratic but I have checked it on other equipment too.
I have been running for a couple of years and my resting HR is 60bpm so it is quite a dramatic leap!!

Is this normal?
Has anyone else experienced this?

Comments

• I have experienced that, using a HRM.

It comes as quite a shock.

I have put it down to my body suddenly being asked to run fast, from a standing start. The heart is blind: it doesn't know what it being demanded of it next when it experiences sudden exertion, so it seems to go haywire at first until it settles down.

After I noticed the phenomenon on my HRM, I changed how I start my runs. Instead of going fast to begin with, I go slow, pause, go slow, pause, go slow, pause, for a couple of minutes - so I'm gradually warming up into the run rather than racing away. I don't know if that is necessary, but that's what I tend to do now. No sudden burst of speed from a standing start.
  • Mr BumpMr Bump ✭✭✭
    I can't explain this if you're on a treadmill (unless your treadmill is in a cold garage, perhaps?), but if you're outside running, it is likely to happen most on colder days.