I need motivation, please help!

I haven't been running regularly for about 2 months now, and it's getting to me. Before I was jogging 2 or 3 times a week, usually 30 mins at a time, and I sometimes do 5K races. Overall I have been running for about 18 months.

Can anyone help me get back into serious training? Getting peed off because winter coming, so won't be able to run in my park during the week - have to run along the road / past shops with dodgy people hanging outside them.

How should I start back? I am putting on weight fast (*sob*)! I hate to think of the fitness that I have lost, and have to regain.

Comments

• NessieNessie ✭✭✭
    A couple of suggestions:

There are less dodgy characters around early in the morning - are you someone who could drag themselves out of bed for a run before work? (If you are, I have a lot of admiration for you....)

Can you find someone to run with? It's easier to get motivated if you have promised someone that you will meet them for a run.

Make the most of the weekends. Run both days and run/walk to enable you to go further. Try 10 minutes run/2 minutes walk, and build up to an hour in total. That will be like doing 2 sessions in one.
  • Like you Amy I'm not looking forward to the nights drawing in - less because of dodgy folk on corners more because there's only one real road with both pavements & streetlights round us! Also we all tend to plateau out from time to time, my guess is the 2 things have just conspired together for you this time.

Don't worry about the fitness it'll come back ever so quickly when you find a new routine.

So what do you like doing, how long have you got to do it (no point aiming for 30 mins 4 times a week if in reality you are only ever going to make it once - you'll just depress yourself)?

All 3 of Nessie's points are spot on, you might need to change your routine slightly in the mornings or weekends but it'll be worth it.