Is it too late....

I've been offered a FLM place. I'm currently running once a week - 9/10 miles. Is there enough time to get up to race distance??? Ta

Comments

• It depends on what you are aiming for, if its just a plod round, it shouldnt be a problem to get enough miles in, if you are going for a quickish time it may be a touch more difficult, whatever the option just enjoy your running, the race will take care of itself.
  • I'm a beginner, so I'm sure someone more experienced will be along in a minute, but funnily enough I did some distance calculations a few weeks ago. Starting at 10 miles and adding 10% per week it takes 11 weeks to get to marathon distance:

1 10
    2 11
    3 12.1
    4 13.31
    5 14.641
    6 16.1051
    7 17.71561
    8 19.487171
    9 21.4358881
    10 23.57947691
    11 25.9374246 (marathon)

Since we are now 9 weeks away, you'd have to push further than the recomended 10% per week. And that's not allowing for injury/illness.

Maybe dropping your aim a bit and going for a run/walk program would make it possible? You're a lot fitter than me by the sound of it, and I'm slightly ahead of target to do it by the above, but I'm planning on walking most of it!

Like I say, I'm a beginner, so wait for someone with more experience to give advice. To me it sounds possible but only if you are prepared to have a hard time and go slow.
  • PS: forgot about tapering before too...
  • Yeas 10% is the norm but there's no need to run over 20 before a marathon if you're a beginner.....
  • If you're already at 9/10 miles... you can increase to around 12 without too much soreness. I ran 20 miles yesterday as a step up from 14. Yes, a little crackers but I've also been running for 3 years non-stop at 4-5 runs per week. My base fitness is actually really good.