Jogging

I'm new to the game but still manage to run for at least 30mins without HAVING to stop.

I have known that you should warm up and cool down for activity but how does 'jogging' (I keep reading about 'jog to cool down') work for this? As far as I am concerned that is what I am doing during my run??!!

Comments

• G4, You are correct, the start of your run is the warmup. At the end I drink water and do some streching.

Robin
  • I used to just strech then go out and run 4 miles then stretch again but I started having trouble with the dreaded itb's. Now i stretch , then "jog" then stretch again then run then jog to cool down then stretch

Its knocked possibly a mile off my distance but when your knees hurt .....

Still having said that i havnt been out for 2 weeks , first week was working up to a TA course that I didnt want to carry an injury for and last week was due to blister, so hopefully if I can get my traiers on tonight I will be out tonite on my new grass course
  • I think you have to accept that the general terms jog and run are very flexible in their application, so my jog may be your walk.

personally I use brisk walking to and from my "run" which tonight was at 10 mins a mile for 3 miles. I will now do 5 mins of stretches every hour of so between now and going to bed, I also broke the work day up with 3 or 4 walks and stretches since I was stiff from Sundays run.
  • Hi G4
    I agree with you about the jog to warm up! I tend to stretch for around 10 mins and then just start jogging and at the moment also do around 30mins. I would say my pace is the same thoughout so there is no distinction between jogging and running! I imagine if we did some speedwork to increase our overall pace then we could start with a gentle jog and build up to running.
  • I certainly understand what you mean. When I started running again in Jan, my fastest speed was also my slowest speed. So cool down meant walk.