Marathon deriders

Don't you just hate people who scoff at you, as a first timer, planning to run FLM.

I don't even get it that badly either, as people know I run, swim and cycle quite a lot (and that I'm a TA soldier too). I cringe to think the kind of sarcastic and deriding comments that must be chucked at the vast majority of first-timers, many of whom haven't done any serious running before.

It wouldn't be so bad, but one of the bods doing it is a PTI at work!! Talk about encouraging .. I don't think.

Right, whine over. I shouldn't complain. The deriders are providing a major source of motivation *grin*.

Comments

• What sort of person is deriding you?

I think that a lot of people don't relaise the effort that is put in, but that is ignorance.
    Whether you do it it in sub 3 or sub 7 it still takes alot of work.
  • I ran FLM last year as a first timer. Its an event not to be missed. Bin the deriders and crack on and ready yourself for an experoience not to be missed. Best of luck.
  • I ran FLM this year as a first timer. Its an event not to be missed. Bin the deriders and crack on and ready yourself for an experience not to be missed. Best of luck.
  • I rode 140 miles on my bike when I was 16 'cos someone said I couldn't do it.

Use their comments to keep you going - you'll have a great time in London.
  • Hello there Psi,
    I am hoping to do the FLM next year too, and I am a first timer.. I like the folks that look at you like you have gone soft for just running - let alone being 'crazy' enough to want to do a marathon.

I'll show em....

How is your training doing? I am not fast by any means, and am still trying to get started on the RW 100 day half marathon plan.. I will get there and have entered a half marathon for january - as build up to the big one in April.

Best wishes

go-slow