Blister

I can't run properly because I have a massive blister on my right foot. It's located just under the left side of the arch of my right foot. It seems strange that I haven't got one on my left foot. I don't know whether it's the footwear I'm running in or the way I'm running, or maybe I have one leg longer than the other and I 'm putting more pressure on the right foot. I have fairly standard running shoes but I'm not very technical so I wouldn't know what type they are. Can anyone offer an explanation for why I'm getting blisters or what I should be doing to prevent them please?

Comments

• If only I (and many other runners) knew....! Some suggestions on previous threads for causes and solutions have been:
    - shoes too loose
    - feet are not identical so that's why one is worse
    - try different socks
    - rub surgical spirit on your feet to toughen the skin
    - keep feet moisturised (yes, I know, that contradicts the surgical spirit one....I did warn you no-one knew the answers!!)
    - put micropore tape around your foot before running, so the tape not your skin gets the friction
    - put vaseline / Bodyglide / zinc cream on your feet before running to reduce friction

so....take your pick! sorry I can't be more helpful!

To sort out the current blister, I suggest you drain it (if it has not already popped) using a sterile needle (hold it in a flame for a couple of seconds). Then leave overnight to dry out a bit, and put a Compeed plaster on it. Compeed is some technical stuff that helps healing and helps prevent further blistering. You can get it in any chemist - just make sure you pick the right box, the plasters come in various sizes including "too tiny for a runners blister" :-)
  • Thanks for the advice. To be honest, I am a beginer so I expect blisters are just something I'm gonna have to get used to, but it does not me off a bit! I'll try the compeed blasters, think I've used one of those in the past.
  • JjJj ✭✭✭