Blisters in my Arches

I've been running in Saucony Jazz 6000s for several years (not the same pair!!) and thought it was time for an upgrade. I trust the brand after all this time so I've bought some Grid Jazz X running shoes. My problem is that after about three miles I develop blisters under my arches - anyone got any ideas how to stop this? I use 1000 Mile double layered socks which claim to guarantee blister free running but they don't help.

Please help - the blisters are agony right now.

Comments

• McGoohanMcGoohan ✭✭✭
    I used to use 100 mile socks but peeps on this forum persuaded me otherwise. I converted to X-Socks: quite expensive but don't drop to bits like 100 mile socks. Fewer arch blisters too.

However, I do still get arch-blisters, esp on a pair of new trainers (I wear Asics Kayanos). To be honest, pre-run, I just put sticking plaster (the cuttable-up to any size you want type) over the potential affilicted area, socks over the top of that: no problem.
  • I'll give the plasters a try then and move away from the 1000 milers too.

Thanks.
  • i know exactly how painful and annoying blisters on your arches are. my solution to get rid of them is pop them and clean the area with surgical spirits. the surgical spirits gently hardens the skin of the blister which makes it a lot less sensitive.

I have tried every pair of sock out there and now can only where the 1000 miles tactel racing sock as it is really thin.
  • I've had the same problem for always - I've always done the sticking plaster trick or have got some gauze which I tape over my arches if I'm going on a long run. Skin has hardened on my arches but can still get blistered.

Just bought some new socks though, so hoping they might help.
  • I used to suffer from this problem a lot, but then mysteriously it stopped, quite a while ago now.

However, this weekend a blister 2" in diameter has rubbed up on my left arch!!

Seems no rhyme or reason to it.